Baxi Bermuda backboiler - central heating iffy after water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a novice when it comes to central heating and boilers so forgive me for any daft statements/questions in this.

Bought a property over the summer with a baxi backboiler heating system. Had been serviced in March, and works (worked) fine. Plan was to leave it until Feb when we're looking at green deal opportunities and having a new kitchen put in.

Anyway, the last week or so the call for heat has been playing up for the central heating. The water works fine, in that it responds to the call and we get hot water as needed. The issue is the central heating call seems to be ignored, and only intermittently works.

My first thought on this was the control unit (a pretty rickety looking Drayton Lifestyle LP112) was playing up. So, I forked out £25 for a new one which arrived today and - whilst the new unit works fine - hasn't solved the problem.

To put it into simple terms, we were away over the weekend and upon returning we clicked the heating to "On" and, good as gold, on it came. We ran this all evening, with wife clicking the water on later on for showers before bed - again, worked fine.

This morning we got up, clicked the heating to "On" and again it worked. Then comes the issue - wife again called for Water to heat before putting both off before we went out and now....nothing. Water will heat, but heating won't respond. This has been the issue for a while now.

To my thicko non-plumber/expert brain it seems like something gets "stuck" with the water heating cycle meaning the heating won't engage, and only when that comes unstuck (be it through time or the cycle completing) will the heating respond.