Best Glue for Flatpack Furniture Assembly

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I have several pieces of flatpack bedroom furniture to assemble and want to glue all the butt joints to add some strength and hopefully see them last longer. They are made from narrow strips of softwood, glued together and finished with some kind of lacquer.

I don't think standard PVA wood glue will be much good, as it probably won't stick to the varnish/lacquer faces. I'm wondering about either Gorilla Glue Original or Everbuild Lumberjack 45 minute polyurethane. I've never used either before and I'm slightly put off after reading that after it has expanded, the excess glue is difficult to remove. (Or it would be in my case, as I'd have to be so careful not to damage the finished surface).

Just wondered if anyone has any advice or experience of gluing up this type of furniture and any glue recommendations.

Thanks

DSCF1488.JPG

Sponsored Links
Do they have dowels?

I can't make out from your pic what it is or how it's put together.

Sponsored Links
Avoid any expanding PU glue such as Gorilla or Lumberjack for this type of job (they are OK for carpentry but a nightmare for cabinetmaking), if only because any squeeze-out will be simply impossible to clean up completely.

Butt joints don't have much strength, per se, but if you really do want to glue them you could try the Everbuild 30 minute PU gel in a tube (designed for use in a caulking gun) - it has minimal expansion and can often (but not always) be removed after it is fully set using a sharp chisel. lt will adhere to smooth surfaces, but you will get better mechanical bond if you can scuff the hidden surfaces with some sandpaper before applying the glue. Use sparingly, though, and because it does expand although not very much

I'll ask the same a JohnD, namely are there any location dowels in the construction, but also why glue up?

Many thanks for the interesting replies.