Best material for a desk

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
image.jpg
Hi
My wife’s just started working from home and needs a desk to work at. She wants it built into an alcove to give her maximum space. My question really was what’s the best material to use for it? Some have suggested paint Ming MDF but I’m concerned that this will get scratched (she has lots of heavy files) and look crap. I wondered about plywood and then putting a laminated top on it?

Any other suggestions and tips would be great! I’m a DIY novice!

Thanks

Pete

Sponsored Links
an offcut of laminated 40mm worktop. some supliers sell short lengths.
or go by a residential building refurbishmen site and ask if theve ripped any old w/ts out. kit fitters are replacing good stuff every week.

that corners not ideal thers the windowand curtin, the rad and no elec outlet can be seen.
remember that knees have to go under a desk into an openin about 24" - 25"high min..

if thers files an computer/digi stuff then youl need lots more space than that alcove - a length of w/t along a clear wall with outlets anmaybe landline/broadband conn handy.

I used a sheet of 18mm bamboo, treated with hard wax oil, supprted on steel box sections. I’m very happy with it, but it was pricey. It was a much larger span than yours.

A nice piece of 18mm plywood, with a coloured wax oil (e.g. osmo), would be a good option.

Look in any skips you pass. Seriously. I recently replaced a deep window ledge board with a piece of ply from a skip, because it was better than the sheet I had bought to use there.

Looks to small an area for a desk.
Just ledge something from the widow to the side of the chimney breast and you have a shelf desk.:mrgreen:

Sponsored Links
View attachment 145184 Hi