Making a corner desk with limited skills

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Since I started a new job, my office desk isn't cutting it any more - not enough accessible desk and monitor space. So I'm looking to build a 190cm x 160cm x 80 / 60cm corner desk to fit a space in my study.

I'm thinking of using planed scaffolding planks, and maybe finding off the shelf legs (though not really inspired by the legs I'm finding! anyone know of any good sources??) but the thing that's giving me most concern is joining at the inside corner to leave an open leg space, but being sufficiently supported that it wont collapse when I lean or it). I might also want to add a raised shelf or something along the back of one edge, or cube shelving or something underneath just to give more storage space (it's a small room)

I should say, I've got no experience. At all. and beyond scaffolding planks and legs, I've no idea what other materials I'll need or really where to get them.

It's obviously the open corner that's the problem here and what I'm asking just might not be possible / easy for me, but I'd just prefer not to buy a boring, cheap looking but expensive office desk that doesn't exactly fit the space I've got.

Sponsored Links
Legs either end and 3x2 thru front edge from leg to rear wall to support inner corner assuming you are fixing all to baton on wall at rear?

I think you can still buy a powder coated steel sub frame for an L-shaped desk from IKEA (my previous desk was built on one of those and I seem to recall there was some width adjustment in it - BTW iot wasn't in the standard catalogue, but it was in a separate cataloigue from IKEA Office which you could pick-up in store)