Best Thermostat for Vaillant Boiler and Zoning?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Having just purchased my first house, I have just started a whole of house refurbishment project.

I am going to be putting in a new central heating system. The boiler I've chosen is the Vaillant Ecotec IQ Combi boiler (35kw). I wanted advice on zoning and the best smart thermostats (app/internet enabled) to help with this.

I wanted a simple two zoned system for upstairs and downstairs.

Upstairs all the bedrooms will have radiators and bathroom will have wet underfloor heating possibly with a small heated towel rail as secondary source of heat. Downstairs there will be radiators in the lounge and the hallway with underfloor heating in the kitchen and downstairs toilet.

I need advice on the best thermostat to help control the two zones. I'm not a heating expert but understand you'd need a separate wall thermostat for each zone. I was originally looking at Nest but was put off by the price of purchasing two thermostats.

So I have shortened my options to:

• Hive (adding another thermostat is £99 which is reasonable)
  • Drayton Wiser (using thermostats but potentially adding their iTRVs
  • Vaillant VRC 700 (this seems to be Vaillant's answer but not seen too many reviews)
I am keen to gather people's experiences and opinions on either of the above options.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Good evening Tazzym,I don’t know much about smart thermostats to comment on which is best, although a lot of folk on here seem to want help with wiring a Hive or Nest. You are correct on the zone valving needing x2 2 port valves (referred to as an s-plan) and separate thermostats to control each zone.

Hi Tazzym, just interested in what you went for in the end. Did you use the VRC 700 or go for 3rd party controllers?

Sponsored Links
Every system has good and bad points, and it is down to how much control you want and what you want to spend.