Best way to unblock bath waste drainage pipe?any tips please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
ok guys.
Ive been renovating this house for the last 12 months (what a PITA) but anyway Ive just tarted the bathroom up as I've now moved in.

I noticed straight away that the bath drains off really slowly and after a bit of investigating can clearly see what can only be described as 'orrible gunk down the bath waste pipe.

I tried a plunger on it tonight for a good 10 minutes but its not budging! After some plunging I did start to hear water gurgling and for a moment I thought I had cracked it! but no. Once i ran the bath and tested it, it seems as blocked as ever.

The sink seems to be tapped into the same drainage pipe as when I ran the sink I could hear the bath gurgle!!

Anyway, can anyone give me any nuggets of advice on how I can fix this? cheaply if possible :D (I did think of a rod plunger type method but Im not sure if this would dislodge the blockage further down the pipes!)

Also, I dont 'think' the external soil pipe is back vented if I understand the meaning of this correctly. The soil pipe comes straight out of the bathroom and down into the ground...whereas my neighbours goes up to the roofline and has a nice little vent assembly at the top.

Am I correct in thinking this stops the traps being pulled to drain?
I read about a Hep V O waste valve being used instead but I have no idea what that is!!

All advice gratefully appreciated

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert on drainage, but why not just cut out all of the old 40mm plastic and replace it? it's not expensive.

HepVo is a waterless seal that replaces a traditional trap and is (probably) nothing to do with your problem.

As to the other bit, the soil pipe must be vented. Sometimes there is an internal air admittance valve - which I believe are prone to becoming stuck.

I'm sure that someone who knows more will be along soon to help you out!

EliteHeat said: