Bird feeders and tables why a change?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been feeding the birds for around 10 years, first house was always a bit intermittent and never got mobbed with birds, often had to renew seed as it had gone off.

Moved in with late mother around 3 years ago and had a bird feeder, a caravan shaped nest box which I put seed into and a bird table, never seen so many birds, they would go in the caravan, and mobbed the bird table counted 20 starlings on same table plus many others including a seagull, it was near enough a daily job filling the feeders.

Last year and this year no starlings around, and the other birds still use bird feeder but don't seem to use bird table or caravan.

Loads of morning bird song so they are around, but much reduced garden activity. Feeder lasts a week. Any ideas why?

Sponsored Links
No

But with ref to birds

Apparently it has become common practice for property developers who buy up land to net all the trees and hedges on the land so as to stop or to deter birds from nesting which could hold up building works ??

Talk of making this practice illegal

Won't ever happen...

Developers are major government 'donors'/financiers !

It will be made illegal it's all ready illegal to disturb a nesting bird
In effect any development would come to s halt untill the bird stopped nesting

Recent site I was on a 3 storey library ground to a virtual halt because of a Robin

Sponsored Links
Recent site I was on a 3 storey library ground to a virtual halt because of a Robin
You can't accuse the government of being a robin' whatever, when it's declared an austerity drive.
If it closes libraries, well tuff! ;)

Now if it had been a Robin Hood, that would have been a different matter. Book 'im!

Mind you a 3 story library ain't much of a library!

Can you give us chapter and verse on the story?

Sorry, this comment is getting a bit wordy.