Bit of advice on wiring of an electric shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm installing a new bathroom suite for a customer but they arranged for the electrician to come in and sort out the electric supply for the shower. However, I am a little concerned as to how safe he has left the wiring for the new shower and, not being an experienced electrician, I would appreciate some advice.

I had already disconnected the original electrical supply for the shower and made it safe and the electrician has connected this supply to the "mains in" terminals on a fused switch outside the bathroom. From this switch a new length of wiring goes through a stud wall to a pull-cord ceiling mounted switch next to the shower. Then there is a final length of wiring from the pull-cord switch for me to connect to the shower when I install it.

However, despite checking that the fused switch outside the bathroom and the pull-cord switch next to the shower are both off, I have tested the wire he has left me (bare-ended I would add) and it is showing as live. How can this be the case if the two switches are both off?

Any clues would be appreciate.

Sponsored Links
Not sure what you mean by a mains in terminal outside the bathroom.

The shower circuit should run from the MCB and RCD at the Consumer Unit to the 45Amp dual pole pull switch in the ceiling and then onto the shower itself.

Sometimes people will fit a dual pole 45Amp switch outside the bathroom as well.

Can I ask how you are testing that you have a live wire - what with and what colour cables?

Does the live wire stay live when you switch the MCB off?

Not sure what you mean by a mains in terminal outside the bathroom.

The shower circuit should run from the MCB and RCD at the Consumer Unit to the 45Amp dual pole pull switch in the ceiling and then onto the shower itself.

Sometimes people will fit a dual pole 45Amp switch outside the bathroom as well.