Bleeding after drain and new valves

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am a newbie on here and am hoping someone could help please.

I have an open vent central heating system with 7 rads. None had thermostats and only three worked.

I drained the system, took each rad off (one by one), flushed the rad in the garden, then refitted with new thermostats (was manual valves) and new lock head valves.

I then refilled the system but am now stuck.

When refilling I could only bleed out a small amount of air, then I had to wait about 10 mins and bleed again. I did this over and over until the downstairs 3 radiators were full. Then I went upstairs and tried that but am not getting any air out. I also bled the immersion tank but again am getting small amounts of air every 10 mins.

I tried turning on the heating (water and rads) and the water comes hot, but the rads are still cold.

The only one coming slightly warm is the bathroom which has manual valves as my open radiator.

Any ideas what to try next please?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Try disconnecting one radiator with the valves shut, of course then opening the valves one at a time so you get a deluge of water - and hopefully air - burping out of the system.
On awkward systems I've seen me connect a hose to the valves, and then forcing mains water up the pipes to dislodge a difficult airlock.
I presume that the supply from the header tank in the loft is clear, of course.....little movement of water here means that a sediment block is common where the pipe joins the rad circuit.
John :)

When I used to have that problem with filling my open vented system, a plumber showed me a trick. Get a piece of garden hose a couple of feet long, insert it into the system filling pipe in your header tank, give it a good long blow and then the water would start to flow and the system would fill. I’m presuming there’s no sludge in your header tank that’s blocked the system filler pipe?