Blinking and Stopping Halogen Light Problem. Help!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have recently moved into a newly decorated flat and has up until yesterday not experienced any problems with the electrics. Then yesterday the ceiling halogen lights started misbehaving in the 1st floor bedroom. When I turn on the light switch 4 of the 6 lights come on just fine. Of the remaining 2 one is now blinking at an interval of around 2 per second. This is continuous until I turn off the light switch. The remaining light stays on for around 5 seconds after which it turns off completely. I am not very experienced with electrics but understand from the previous owner (developer) that the ceiling lights have been installed with 1 transformer per 2 halogen lights. I have not checked whether the 2 are feeding from the same transformer but I would say this is very likely. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated....

Sponsored Links
Determine whether the two lights are on the same transformer, by removing the light fittings and examining the wiring arrangement. If necessary disconnect the transformer to see if the lights affected go out.

Then try a new transformer, ensuring you have the correct rating - does the total number of watts connected to the transformer not exceed the rating of the transformer? Ie if you have 2 50W lamps, is the transformer rated at at least 100VA?

If not, that will be a problem.

Thank you Securespark. I will check out the transformer tonight.