Boarding my loft options

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am presently increasing the thickness of loft insulation to 270mm and have an area where I need to lay additional loft boards for storage purposes. I have a trussed roof which I believe is rated for 25kg/m2 but now that it gave the chipboard sheets and the 175mm x 47mm wood battens I have estimated the loading to be 23kg/m2 leaving very little room for storing anything. I have seen the Loftzone system and have calculated that using this instead of the wood battens would reduce the loading to 16kg/m2. What is the general opinion on the Loftzone system? It’s more expensive than wood battens but that’s not an issue for me.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I have decided to go with the Loftzone system due to weight concerns in the loft. Loftzone seem to get good reviews and I got a decent deal from Hombase.

I have decided to go with the Loftzone system due to weight concerns in the loft. Loftzone seem to get good reviews and I got a decent deal from Hombase.
I've got no complaints from my Lofzone install.
Easy and quick to fix, also light and strong enough on my 3 x 2" loft joists! - although I have since reinforced the joists and reused the Loftzone kit.

...although it's a bit pricey for some recycled plastic and galvanized channel! :)

I've got no complaints from my Lofzone install.
Easy and quick to fix, also light and strong enough on my 3 x 2" loft joists! - although I have since reinforced the joists and reused the Loftzone kit.

...although it's a bit pricey for some recycled plastic and galvanized channel! :)
Its costing twice what the 7" x 2" roof joists have cost me, fortunately the supplier of the joists is happy to take them back.

Sponsored Links
Bit late, so for future reference, depending on the spans - 7 by 2s could do 4m+ for a loft on their own, so depending on relative stiffness you might find most of the load is taken by the cross battens.

DIYnot Local

Staff member