1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

boiler coming on randomly when shouldn’t salus RF300 stat

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Anderson69, 26 Nov 2017.

  1. Anderson69

    Anderson69

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guys first time in here I got a new boiler fitted about 7 months ago with aforementioned stat boiler all working well but about a month ago I got back from hols and it started to fire up itself no flame indicated on remote but receiver light green as if getting a signal I reset the boiler & stat receiver from mains it was fine for a month or so last Sunday it did it again I reset it again and fine for a week and then it done it again today!! It’s so frustrating I can’t wirk out the issue plllllllease help, also I have BG coming out next week for first visit for boiler cover does anyone know if they cover a Ariston Clas he 30 Combi Boiler help please
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. dilalio

    dilalio

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    7,096
    Thanks Received:
    1,085
    Location:
    Potters Bar
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The issue is likely the Salus.
    They are sh!te.
    Your electric toothbrush or a rampant rabbit can trigger a call for heat.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Anderson69

    Anderson69

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ha ha that’s made me lol there I’ve seen a few posts elsewhere on then basically saying the same thing was going to try n change the rf/frequency pins to see if that will make a difference what you think?
     
  5. leakydave

    leakydave

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a FROST STAT on your system?
     
  6. Anderson69

    Anderson69

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh I do but I don’t think it’s that the boiler is in the kitchen and it’s been colder than tonight and not came on plus kitchen temp about 19-20 degrees so I kind of ruled that out
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Anderson69

    Anderson69

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My neighbour is a plumber/heating by trade he fitted it and was in tonight and seems pretty convinced it’s the stat I’ve not changed the frequency yet will do that tomorrow, anyone know if the boiled fired itself up would the green light still come on on the salus reciever I was thinking not as the receiver sieahs to the boiler to turn it on I didn’t think the boiler would talk to the receiver so green light on receiver telling boiler to come on but if boiler was on by it’s own accord then surely the reciever wouldn’t be green is that correct?
     
  9. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It all depends how the Salus receiver is wired internally. If the green light is connected to the relay coil, and is energised with the relay, then no, it won't come on without the receivers say so. If on the other hand, the light is connected to the switched live relay contact, then it could come on when the boiler does as it will receive a live signal fed back down the line from the boiler.

    These days I would be inclined to think that it wouldn't come on. I have seen this happen with some older heating controls, but have not come across it recently. Unfortunately as I don't have one in front of me I can't test it and tell you.

    A frost stat as has been suggested is the usual culprit, as it will override all of the other controls. But it's odd that yours is located in the kitchen, usually they are in an area where any pipes are subject to freezing such as lofts or outbuildings.
     
  10. Anderson69

    Anderson69

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THanks for your reply I had contacted salus who suggested it’s a rf frequency problem getting interference from another wireless device in the vecinity of houses around the 30mtr range will try that first tonight, it’s neen fine for basically 6 months it’s just of late it’s started this madness so I would have thought if there was any wiring issues it may have done it from the off
     
  11. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wouldn't be surprised. I've seen this a few times now. Salus units are very popular and for some reason most installers never change the frequency from the factory set one. Every time I help some one install one on here, I always advise them to change the settings.

    Follow the instructions carefully though, miss a step out and it won't work.

    I suppose it's the problem arising just as we get the first real cold snap of the winter that's made us suspect the frost stat, that's normally when these symptoms occur.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Anderson69

    Anderson69

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We had really cold weather here on Friday night sat morning snow n stuff but it didn’t come on then but came on Sunday about 4:30 when it wasn’t as cold and the kitchen is usually about 18-19 degrees and it’s in a housing unit so has the boiler heat also I’m suspecting that the frost setting wouldn’t set in or would it I thought it only came on if it dropped below the 5 degrees etc that it’s set at? Our WiFi was gubbed when we came home from hols and BT fixed it then this started to happen someone suggested that the frequency of the WiFi/broadband may have changed and is now effecting it randomly have you ever used a horstman stat? If it is frequency I still want to get a stat that has a timer programmer as this doesn’t and don’t want to get the RT500RF if salus are poor as everyone says so would rather replace with a better one? I just want to change frequency on this one to check that’s what it is and not the boiler before I get a new stat
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page