Boiler Door Opened (By Itself!) And Won't Shut??!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi!
So I went into the loft earlier today and saw this!! How??? Why??? It locates at the top with spring loaded latches! How on earth could this happen? I am literally scratching my head! Also, I can't close it as it catches on the control unit?? Have tried to wiggle and jiggle it but the control unit is around 10mm out of place to the hole in the door?? I have messaged the guy who fitted the boiler originally to see if he can come out and take a look. Bad timing obviously so it wont be for a few days. Anyone else had this? It's a Glow Worm boiler. Will it be OK like this for now? Not even sure how long it has been like this. It would have made a nice loud bang too as it hit an old table with crap on it. Before you ask...... no our house isn't haunted lol!

IMG_1500.JPG

Sponsored Links
. Will it be OK like this for now?
I'm not a gas engineer, but I believe I can say that the boiler is unsafe to use, without the cover in place.
The cover has seals all the way around and forms part of the room-sealing of the boiler.
Without the cover in place, there is the possibility that the products of combustion could end up in your loft space.
If you can find a way to fit the cover, it will need checking by an RGI before reuse.
The boiler installation manual would normally have instructions for the covers removal.

But given the unusual circumstances involved, I think I would want the boiler inspected, before I turned I back on.

To the RGI's, could a strong gust of wind into the flue blow the cover off?

Last edited:
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW
@RandomGrinch - doubt a gust of wind would do it. If not fitted correctly, could be explosive ignition. @Justin Bodley - I agree with RG that it shouldn’t be used, looks like it connects to the 2 metal rods poking out the top, and then engaged at the bottom.

Sponsored Links