1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Boiler losing connection with thermostat, please help

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by KGS100, 26 Jul 2020.

  1. KGS100

    KGS100

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    we had a Worcester Bosch Combi Greenstar 8000 life fitted beginning of this year with an Easy Control thermostat.

    A couple of months in, the heating kicked in early hours of the morning with a boiler crossed through signal on the thermostat suggesting it had lost connection. It came on and off again a few times before it reconnected. Since then this problem has got worse and worse and started happening daily. We got the fitter out who had no idea, I moved the thermostat to different areas in the house including next to the boiler with no walls inbetween to check on connectivity issues but was still happening. I called Worcester last week and they came out and replaced the boiler wireless key and the thermostat after saying they have never heard of this issue before. And again the same has happened today, heating fired up and new thermostat says it has lost connection! I’m at a loss of what to do. Can anyone help please? It’s causing me sleepless nights not knowing if the heating is going to kick in and wake everyone up. Do I just get a system wired in? Could there be a fault somewhere in the system? The boiler is very big for our house, have also noticed it “kicking in” - not heating wise but just firing up - even when we turn cold water on. No idea if any of these things could effect the thermostat/boiler override. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    11,799
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the boiler is activating when you open a cold tap, you need a non return valve and mini expansion vessel fitting to the cold inlet on the boiler. Call your installer back to have them do this.

    As for the issue with the wireless control, keep calling WB out until they fix it. It's not up to you to pay extra to fix a fault in their system. You've already paid a lot extra in the boiler price over what it's worth so you can access their fleet of repair engineers, so use them.

    Interested that you say it's waking everyone up. I'd heard they were noisy boilers, is it really that loud?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. KGS100

    KGS100

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you. It’s not the boiler itself that is noisy but very old pipe work we have that needs replacing. The boiler itself isn’t too bad but I can hear it come on from the room above.
    I know then I call Worcester they will say they don’t know what else is wrong; they were stumped on the phone and when they came out and replacing kit was their only idea. I guess it could be interference but would that happen when the thermostat is right next to the boiler?
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    16,604
    Thanks Received:
    6,186
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No dont accept that , as @ Muggles says you have paid for over priced crap , and as for the engineer saying he has never heard of that before !!! I know of 4 that have had so many problems with that controller, get them back out, you have paid handsomely for the warranty, tell them to get it sorted
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  6. KGS100

    KGS100

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for your reply. I will call them again tomorrow but really not hopeful they will help judging from last interaction. I think my only option is to get a wired in kit and hope that sorts it. Frustrating to say the least.
     
  7. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    3,401
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No thats not your only option. You've paid for a heating system with a functioning control system. If WB fob you off go to Trading Standards to start with and take it from there.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  8. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    11,799
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If nothing else, at least force them to provide you with a replacement product free of charge. It's not up to you to pay to fix their product when it's under warranty
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  9. KGS100

    KGS100

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They did replace the key and the thermostat the other day - free I believe as they haven’t billed me. Still hasn’t fixed the issue though
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,483
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Suggest they bring an off air monitor for the radio frequency used for the wireless link.

    If the problem is loss of ( or corruption of ) data between thermostat and boiler due to interference than replacing parts will never solve the problem.
     
    Last edited: 26 Jul 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    11,799
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, it will be free as you're still within your warranty period. If they can't fix it with that particular product, it might be a product issue, in which case insist they replace it with a different product of equivalent value and functionality
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    16,604
    Thanks Received:
    6,186
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not your problem, tell them to find out what the problem is and get it sorted, get your installer to call the local sales rep they have a lot of power, they should get it sorted for you
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    3,401
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    .
    Mmm. Wonder what part of the spectrum that link is in, the rest of the system seems to rely on WiFi and broadband (nice feature, if you lose your broadband connection you lose all your programmed on/off settings. I expect that from cheap Chinese kit but would annoy me a lot if that sort of function was sold to me at WB prices)
     
  15. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,483
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably 433.92 MHz or 868.xx MHz area. Licence Exempt frequencies used by an increasing number of systems

    One has to wonder why people are persuaded to become reliant on internet services for the control of their heating system.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    16,604
    Thanks Received:
    6,186
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because that was sold to them , and that was what they wanted, that is what they paid for so that is what they should get
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. KGS100

    KGS100

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have tried the thermostat all over the house, even in the small room the boiler is in. It’s a room on its own with nothing else but a washing machine and yet still it dropped connection. Could there still be interference then? I’m at a loss if there is and it’s that sensitive. We have no other fancy gadgets ie a Ring doorbell etc which they initially kept asking and saying may make issues. We have a baby monitor in the house but it’s nowhere near the boiler. I have no idea on frequencies etc and this is all so out of my depth to be honest but is so frustrating.
     
Loading...

Share This Page