Boiler wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Boiler controls are an area where I have little experience, but I am working on it.

Boiler for pool and underfloor heating. Plumber is being called back but I am interested in whats wrong.

Boiler is getting no call for heat

stat sends signal for underfloor heat (hotwater pipes not electric)

This is the stat
View media item 41985
This is the boiler and controls

View media item 41984
looks like it used a CPC as conductor. 6th connector block grey switch live and Green and yellow in same block. green yellow goes to the LAE thermostat

Power is on the grey from the timer by the boiler when I manually switch this on
Nothing happens to this grey switch live from the room stat, it does not power it up.

The boiler is in standby mode and will not fire up.
It looks to me like the switch live is not going to the boiler.

Any thoughts

As I say I am not repairing this, using this to learn from.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
One would guess it did work once? But I have found a whole estate where some one had used three core flex to wire up the cylinder thermostat using the green/yellow wire as a live wire connected to N/O contacts.

Central heating has so many plans each with it's own problems to list possible causes of faults would result in a very long list. Some of the problems can be quite elusive for example.

Most closed system boilers have a reservoir inside the boiler to allow for expansion as the water heats up. Looks like a ball with one water connection and a car tire valve. These are normally big enough for a standard system but with underfloor heating there is more able to expand so as the water heats up it the pressure release valve will open and dump the excess water.