brake discs"lipped"

Jim

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
When asking about replacing my brake pads I was told that as my discs were "lipped" I should replace them as well. Does this sound right or is it a way of the company earning more profit. It is the first set of pads since the car was new in 2000(Volvo V70). Any views please ?
Jim

Sponsored Links
I am no expert in this field but what I have been told is that brake discs are now made asbestos free - good for our breathing but less durable than before. Therefore discs are sometimes prone to damage - warping, lipping, whatever.

You never said what you have been charged (if you have got that far yet) but looking in the Euro Car Parts catalogue the following is quoted:

S70/V70/C70 96-00 Front 280mm 320mm Front Pads
ATE 21.00 27.50 ATE 22.50
Guttman 19.99 n/a Textar 29.85

Rear 280mm 320mm Rear Pads
ATE 23.50 18.99 ATE 26.95
Guttman 28.25 n/a Textar 33.11

Remember that these are not proprietary manufacturers parts so will be substantially cheaper.

Sorry have to stick in these underscores to make the figures line up:

S70/V70/C70 96-00 Front___280mm_320mm_______Front Pads
________________ATE_____21.00___27.50_______ATE 22.50
________________Guttman__19.99___n/a________Textar 29.85

________________Rear 280mm 320mm___________Rear Pads
________________ ATE_____23.50___18.99_______ATE 26.95
_________________Guttman 28.25____n/a________Textar 33.11

Sponsored Links
When break discs are new, they are flat. Since the break pads do not sit on the very edge, when the pads wear the disc down, this does not wear down, and hence the lip.

The lip itself can lead to Squeeling and accelerated wear of pads. If it is not too serious you can remove the lip by judicious use of a grind stone in a drill. Just remove the wheel, and while turning the disk slowly with one hand, apply the grindstone to lip, untill it is flush with the rest of the disc.