Bricks to Plasterboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I am brand new to this and just wanted some advice on fixing plasterboards to a bathroom wall.

The room has recently been stripped. Three walls are now back to joists, I am going to screw new plasterboards to this, with the dark side out, for skimming by a professional later.

The exterior wall is a non cavity wall, and is now back to the bricks. There are two windows on the wall, which are to remain in place.

As it stands, this is the plan...

1. Apply a layer of browning straight onto the bricks then wait until dry
2. Use dot and dab with Dry Wall Adhesive to fix plasterboards to the browning on wall with dark side out for skimming later.

Any advice on how much adhesive to use? Should I use insulating plasterboard?

I'm fairly sure that this method will work but any advice you could offer before I begin would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)

Sponsored Links
I am brand new to this and just wanted some advice on fixing plasterboards to a bathroom wall.

The room has recently been stripped. Three walls are now back to joists, I am going to screw new plasterboards to this, with the dark side out, for skimming by a professional later.

A couple of things to get you started - normally you skim the lighter side of plasterboards. Also, I am assuming you are meaning standard wallboard? In a bathroom, there is a lot of moisture and standard wallboard is not ideal. You can get Moisture Resistant boards, which are green in colour. There are extra preparations also needed with MR board before plastering.

You also say that there is no cavity on your external wall. If you just D&D direct onto an outside wall like this you can get cold spots where the adhesive is, which leads to black mould formation on them.

I'd suggest a bit of reading round first - I know there's a lot of info on bathroom plastering/boarding in the plastering & rendering forum.