Bridged Ring Main

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been doing some electrical work on my house (extending lighting and socket circuits into my extension). I asked a professional to come and test the installation before I cover up and he has founc a couple of faults.

The first was minor and totally my fault, it didnt show up on the test but on his visual inspection. I had a 20a junction box joining 2 x 2.5mm cables together. I changed that while he was there, retested and all was fine.

The second though was a) slightly more important and b) very unexpected. He found a bridged ringmain and traced the fault to the ringmain extension that powers my conservatory (done by the Installer). He has advised that whilst not overly dangerous it should be changed.

I can still access the area under the floor and I dont want the original installer back. I have some experience doing my extension wiring (which passed fine) should I try fix this myself?

Sponsored Links
dunny said:
He found a bridged ringmain and traced the fault to the ringmain extension that powers my conservatory (done by the Installer). He has advised that whilst not overly dangerous it should be changed.

I can still access the area under the floor and I dont want the original installer back. I have some experience doing my extension wiring (which passed fine) should I try fix this myself?
Hmmm... It could be that both ends of the new ring were connected into one socket (hey, if a ring is good, two must be better, surely? :LOL: ) but that's unlikely since it means four wires into each terminal, which is hard to do. If this is the case you just need to remove two of the cables from the socket (one new and one old) and connect them together. How to connect them is a common topic in here!