British Gas Fitted My New Heating/leak & Knocking Radiat

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I am new to this site and i am a complete novice to central heating so please bear with me! :)

Last week i had British Gas to fit my new gas central heating. The other one has apparently been in my house for the past 25 years.
We have purchased a Greenstar 30Si Wall Hung RSF Gas Fired Condensing Combination Bolier.
My old system was an old council huge cylinder.
The reason why we wanted new heating was because even in milder weather we would have to switch the temp upto at least 25 degrees to get any heat. This has been the same for the past 6 years with huge gas bills.
We would have to bleed the radiators probably every 3 months or so a few cracklings in the radiators would become apparent around 2-3 times yearly.
We wanted to update the system incase we need to sell up as well as an investment/ including having the right documents for the homebuyers pack that comes into effect next year 07
The trouble arose after the completion finished was when i got up the next morning there was a leak somewhere in the bathroom. My wallpaper was wet. B.G. came the same day which was good and said that the installation team damaged a pipe when they fitted the system. Apparently they mistook an old heating pipe for a cold water pipe. The engineer who came regarding the leak didn't switch the cold water mains that very day and when he went to cut and cap off the pipe i had water gushing through my ceiling onto my new hard wood flooring in the kitchen!