Building Survey

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. Noob here.

CRIKEY ! just had my buildings survey back on the first house I am hoping to buy.

There is a list of remedial works recommended around 20 odd of them but it's all swahili to me.

Can anyone help me as too how serious some of this stuff is or how expensive ? I have no idea at all when it comes to what chimney re-pointing means or timber treatments recommended.

Appreciate any help.

Sponsored Links
It may help if you post the points!

The survey should mention the seriousness of the defects and how soon they should be rectified.

Most items described as 'recommended' are not essential and can go to the bottom of the list. Other things may need doing but are not a priority. Any really urgent items, or ones which will affect you going ahead with the sale (or negotiating a price reduction) should be highlighted

But, most importantly, the survey should be easy to understand. You have commissioned it and therefore you want to be told what is wrong in clear terms. It should not be filled with jargon or technical terms. If it really is hard to understand, then get back to the person who did it and ask for an explanation.

thanks woody

ok here are a few bits I am concerned about

When viewed from ground level, evidence of broken, damaged and slipped tiles are apparent. Remedial works will be required. The underside of the slates visible within the roof void show some evidence of delamination and corrosion to the fixings, which may indicate nail sickness is beginning to show. The original ridge and hip sections show evidence of disrepair to the mortar beds and will require remedial works. Slight slope deflection is apparent, which is thought fairly typical of this form of construction and age of property. Evidence of water penetration and staining is noted due to the lack of sarking felt and some damage to the slate covering