built in sliding wardrobe help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
decided one of my bedrooms needs a revamp and decided to go for sliding doors, i have a good space in which i can create a 'built in' effect as the height is 200mm or so more than the doors and width also the same

im aiming for something like this:

the problem is there is a 20mm difference in height!! so the left side measuring from the floor to ceiling is 20mm less that the opposing right side

what is the best way to tackle this because i dont really want it to be noticable above the doors when you look at the wall and doors because that would look a mess

im a plasterer by trade but unfortunately taking down the ceiling and shimming to level is not an option

thanks

Sponsored Links
20mm should not be a problem, not very noticeably.Allowing for overlap you should be able to get 4 X 900mm doors in there.

I didnt think it would be but i have a similar setup at the mo with some old wardrobes built in and maybe its just me looking for it but it is definately noticable

im just wondering if reducing it from the bottom to say 10 mil and seeing how that looks

i wouldnt be able to do the full 20 mil because i would end up with a big lip at the bottom on one side but 10 mil i may get way with because its carpet thats butting up to it

You need to keep the floor fairly level as doors run on it, they can compensate a little for floor or ceiling out of true but if the door is tilted it will be even more obvious than the ceiling.

Sponsored Links
have the bottom rail 75-100mm off the floor on a bit off 3x2" or 2x2" with blocks every 12-16" inches for support and faced with a scribed panel to fill the gap

same up the top

have the bottom rail 75-100mm off the floor on a bit off 3x2" or 2x2" with blocks every 12-16" inches for support and faced with a scribed panel to fill the gap

same up the top
Won't that just give you something to trip over , stub your toe on every time you use the wardrobe? ;)