Cable and conduit help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i'm just starting out and looking to clear up a few things. Can i run 2.5mm twin and earth through conduit for a fused spur, i know about my cable calculations and have looked through the onsite guide but it just seems to refer to running single core cables in conduit. Just wondering with the added pvc insulation on twin and earth if there are any adjustments that need to be made or am i just calculating the size for 2x 2.5 mm cables and 1x 1.5 mm cable?.

Sponsored Links
you might be wondering why not just run single core cable through, it's because i'm penniless at the min and have plenty of 2.5 twin and earth.

no takers on this one tonight it might be a thick question i've just never done it befor always run single core cable through conduit and twin in wall or under boards in this case both are a problem and just wanted to check it out.

no takers on this one tonight it might be a thick question i've just never done it befor always run single core cable through conduit and twin in wall or under boards in this case both are a problem and just wanted to check it out.

Sponsored Links
its an odd one its going to be along the ceiling, sounds daft but where you would put coveing and down the wall to a double socket its for a fused spur to a tv.

its an odd one its going to be along the ceiling, sounds daft but where you would put coveing and down the wall to a double socket its for a fused spur to a tv.
Well, first of all you could just clip the cable behind the coving.
In answer to your original question - there is no reason you can't use T+E in conduit - just pointless and remember the conduit must be in place first so that you can feed the cable through or remove later - awkward with T+E

Can you not bury the cable in the wall or use trunking?

Cables must be run in the approved safe zones and be RCD protected if not visible.