1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cable for smoke alarm

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by RobTi, 6 May 2021.

  1. RobTi

    RobTi

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi would a 1mm cable do for a smoke alarm. Moved a light switch and left with the old cable which at one end would do for the smoke alarm position, I would wire the other end up as told to, just asking about the 1mm cable atm ?
    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,882
    Thanks Received:
    593
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah fine

    Use 3c and e between smoke alarms, so they set each other off in a fire
     
  4. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    513
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If the "cable" is running from a "Lighting" circuit already wired with 1 mm cable - Yes.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,614
    Thanks Received:
    3,189
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You say "Yeah fine", but the OP was asking about using a no-longer-needed light switch cable, which will almost certainly be T+E.

    However, nor did the OP say anything about there being more than one smoke alarm, so he may not need 3C+E to interconnect them.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,882
    Thanks Received:
    593
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well the supply can be t&e
    however further alarms should be 3&e
    Just adding further info like ppl do on here :LOL:


    Yea its unclear if the op has an offcut of cable or trying to connect to a light switch point
     
  7. RobTi

    RobTi

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Move light switch and rewired it from new switch to jb at light with 3 and earth, so Left with the old drop cable to switch which I pulled up and left in hall ceiling which I am lowering. Other end of this cable has been disconnected in attic at the old jb so lying unconnected to anything.

    if you are saying I can use this cable how would you connect it for power ?
    Thanks
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page