Can backbox sit proud if reskimming?

NHW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So I'm just chasing the sections for my new backboxes. They are 25mm deep and I've basically managed to chase the plaster depth pretty OK (hitting upto the brick).

When I put in the backbox now it sticks proud about 9mm. The entire wall is getting reskimmed anyways so that will bring it out anywhere around 5-8mm. So in theory that will only make the backbox proud by 1mm or possibly flush. Will this be adequate?

I'm only asking because to chase in this was only around 30 mins Inc measuring up and leveling etc. But if I have to knock out brick in order to get it deeper I can see that taking wayyyyyy longer, easily another 30-60mins per outlet. Multiply that by 10 and its quite alot of extra time I could save.

Have included a picture for reference
IMG-20220811-WA0041.jpeg

Again I'm not an electrician or anything, I'm just chasing up the walls and an electrician is coming in to do the actual wiring part since I would always use a professional for that part.

Any advice is appreciated

Sponsored Links
NO.
1mm proud is too much, if it was recessed by 1mm then that would be fine but not sticking proud.
The faceplates will never fit flush with the wall and that thick is AFAIK not skimming, that's way too much for simple skimming.

What are you knocking the brick out with, paper straws? Get an SDS chisel onto it or drill it.

What about putting 9mm of skim on :LOL:

Get the chisel out and dig it deeper, levelling it is not paramount, as there is adjustment when faceplate is put on.

Sponsored Links
As above - they need to be flush, anything sticking out is no use and 9mm will be a total mess.

25mm backboxes are not to be recommended either, far better to do 35mm which will allow for flat plate decorative accessories, USB outlets and all the other things which won't fit into a 25mm.