Can I re-use this choc block to add a power socket in my loft?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm boarding my loft, raising the floor. As the floor is going over an old disused aerial booster, I disconnected it first. I had assumed it was somehow spliced into the lighting circuit, but through trial & error at the breaker box I found it was actually using the "downstairs sockets" circuit.

I already planned to add a socket above the floor for convenience, and had intended to tackle this at a later date, but I'm now wondering if I can re-use this somehow and connect a socket before I board over it. I'm not sure why it's a 4-core wire though (I'm no electrician).

Your thoughts/advice would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
That would seem to be the wiring for interlinked smoke alarms. normally they are powered from a lighting circuit.

If the power goes off when you switch off a sockets circuit, then the old alarm circuit may bE powered via an FCU.
The FCU May have too low a fuse to power anything other than a very low-powered device.

That makes sense, as the house used to have interlinked smoke alarms, but they were replaced with battery-powered a few years back. I also remember the old fuse board had a circuit labelled "lights & smokes" but it was replaced last year when we had an extension built with a more modern consumer unit, and the sparky labelled everything afresh. I'm now wondering how accurate the labels are!

So, in short, I don't want to be spurring a socket off this 3&E cable?

The cables there seem to be only 1.5mm² so it’s the wiring for the smokes.

probsbly it will only have a low amp fuse somewhere. Unless you can determine exactly where the power comes from then you shouldn’t use this circuit for anything but it’s original purpose.

what’s your plan B?

Sponsored Links