1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Can wireless stats be wired up ?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by trevorbayliss, 31 Aug 2014.

  1. trevorbayliss

    trevorbayliss

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I need to buy a prog room stat for my new boiler install and the wiring is all in place.

    I have a Salus wireless room stat spare and wondered if i could use this, but wired up ? I was planning on buying the Salus wired stat for this job anyway. Just a coincidence i have the wireless stat in the garage.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,455
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    You could but it is unlikely you will have enough wires and it is a bit silly to have the receiver in, presumably, the living room when they were designed to be near the wiring centre to avoid cable routing to another place.

    You may as well use a non RF thermostat if you have already installed the wiring or
    disregard the wiring and place the receiver by the wiring centre/boiler.
     
  4. trevorbayliss

    trevorbayliss

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have 3 core and earth wire in place. Wall to be plastered still.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I understand the OP correctly, the OP only wants a non-RF thermostat, but happens to have a wireless one, and wonders whether he can use that (the 'transmitter' thereof) as a non-wireless one.

    If so, although I have never seen, let alone used, a wireless thermostat, I would not really have expected that the transmitter could be used as a standalone non-wireless stat - I see no reason why it should have the appropriate (indeed, any!) terminals, or the ability to switch 230V. That being the case, are you sure that he "could do it" ... or am I missing or misunderstanding something!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,455
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    The receivers have L, N and volt free terminals so with a 240V controlled boiler it could be done with three core + E.
    It would then need the remote programmer/thermostat as well - somewhere, presumably in the same place.

    This would be similar to removing the tv infra-red sensor and wiring it to the couch.

    However, as the OP has already wired to the thermostat position he may as well just use a simple programmer/thermostat or, as I said, ignore his cabling and fit the RF receiver near the boiler.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, but, as I said, I thought the OP wanted to use just the transmitter (i.e. the sensor on the wall) which he already has, which I would imagine does not have such terminals or switching capabilities, as if it were an ordinary thermostat (completely ignoring the receiver). ... but maybe I've misunderstood.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,455
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    He can't use just the transmitter.

    Whether you have misunderstood or not:

    He has wired for a non-RF programmer/thermostat which is yet to be bought but now he is wondering if he can use an RF system which he already has.

    Why he wired for non-RF when he already has an RF one I have no idea.

    My point is that it would be stupid to place the receiver in, presumably, the living room so if he decides to use the RF system he does not need the wiring he has installed.
     
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's exactly the point I've been making all along!
    As I keep saying, that is not my interpretation. Maybe I'm wrong, but I do not think he is considering "using an RF system". Rather, I think he wants a non-RF thermostat, and is asking whether he can use, and hard-wire, (just) the sensor (i.e. "transmitter") of an RF system as if it were a normal non-RF thermostat - and we seem to be agreed that the answer is 'no'.

    We clearly need the OP to referee our different interpretations of what he is asking/suggesting!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,455
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok John, you may be right but in my mind a wireless room stat includes both parts.
    It is obvious he cannot wire-up that which has no terminals.
    So, if he meant the receiver then as above.

    He should do this.

    Not really.
     
  12. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed. On the basis of my interpretation of the question, it is that "obvious" point that I have been trying to make in the last several posts. Nothing more, nothing less.

    If your interpretation were correct, I'm not sure why the OP would have bothered to tell us that he had 3C+E wiring in place (presumably to the sensor position on the wall) - which, to me, implied that he was hoping to be able to connect that wiring to the sensor on the wall ("transmitter"). I guess I'm probably interpreting incorrectly - it certainly wouldn't be the first time :)

    As I said, we need Trevor to referee by indicating which of us has interpreted his question/intent correctly!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,455
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    There have been several threads where people (general public) have decided to buy a wireless system ('cos it's cool) with the intention of fitting the receiver in the room.

    I suppose I am thinking this was another.
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Time will tell. We need the referee :)

    Kind Regards, John
     
  15. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,455
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I nominate scousespark. :mrgreen:
     
  16. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :) ... but we'd need to be quick - he only appears once every few weeks, seemingly to review my posts :)

    Kind Regards, John
     
  17. trevorbayliss

    trevorbayliss

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all.

    I want to use the prog room stat with the screen, bot the transmiter box.

    I have done a full rewire on a house i am sorting out and forgot i had this wireless stat in the garage. A bit of 3 core and E was easy to install anyway.

    I need to ask my sparky if i can use this wireless unit really, but thought i would ask you guys to see if all was ok as i may not see him for a week or two.

    If i cant use it i may sell it on gumtree and get a wired unit.
     
Loading...

Share This Page