Ceiling Rose Removal for IKEA light installation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

My wife and I recently got a room redecorated and she has asked me about fitting a set of spotlights we got from IKEA. When we moved into the house we discovered that the room in question had a god awful looking round fluorescent light thing that was bright enough to light the dark side of the moon and made that annoying fluorescent hum at night.

Before the decorator came in I opened up this light and discovered that it was just wired into the remains of the ceiling rose that was once there - the fitting itself was designed to fit around the ceiling rose once the cover had been removed.

The IKEA light has a simple setup of live, neutral and earth going into a terminal block (I believe it’s also called a chocolate block) so I’m going to have to remove the ceiling rose to do this.

I’m fairly confident I’ll be able to do this myself - I’ve been wiring plugs since I was 10 years old and I have done things like replace light switches and sockets. I also found a YouTube video where an electrician went through the process step by step.

In the video he talked about identifying the wires, and explained about loop in and loop out and switched live etc and then showed how to replicate the wiring in the ceiling rise using Wago connectors. I am fairly confident I will be able to do this.

I’ve attached a picture of my ceiling road setup here just for reference. I believe the single red wire on the far left of the photo is switched live. The red wires in centre will, I believe, be permanent live and run to/from other ceiling lights.