Central heating before or after plastering?

F

faycat

Hi

I'm a complete novice so please asume that I know nothing and be gentle with me!!!

We are renovating a 1880s stone mid-terrace house and have several walls with damp patches due to condensation and poor ventilation and guttering problems [which have now been fixed.]

My question is should we put in central heating before we plaster all walls and ceilings [this will help dry out damp patches and help plaster dry but then we will have old messy walls behind radiators] or should we repair walls and plaster before we put in central heating [easier for decorating].

Does anyone have any advice?
Thanks and Happy New Year!!

Sponsored Links
Personally I would strip the walls, treat the damp, possibly put a de-humidifier in for a while, plaster then fit the ch.

It's not just where the rads hang, what about any pipe drops etc?

Always best to fit to nice new walls ;)

Thanks Dave,

That's what I wanted to do but had been told we needed central heating to get rid of damp. Pipes will be dropped under staircase [not sure if that changes anything?]

The only other consideration is that if we have central heating done first we can get rid of old boiler and cupboards and a gas heater [all in bedrooms] which we need to do before we plaster...so I keep going round in circles :confused:

You need to have everything removed from the walls, holes patched and then walls plastered first to do a good job.

Have you an immersion in your hw cylinder for dhw?

Why not budget for 4 or 5 electric convector heaters to use befoer the new heating is installed? They don't cost much at B&Q.

To do a job properly you will have to be inconvenienced at some point.

You never know, you may find an installer like me that lends out electric heaters as part of the job to keep you warm:cool:

Edit; What about any re-wiring, I take it this will be done before plastering as well.

Sponsored Links