Central Heating - going loopy?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a newly qualifited plumber who's been asked to quote for a job in a bungalow.

He's having a new back door fitted where there wasn't one before and he's moving the kitchen to the back of the house into the same room. Unfortunately, that causes a problem with the flow and return pipes for the central heating i.e. in that room he wants the radiator and pipes completely removing.

I think I'll have to have two flows and returns coming down from the loft so that the radiators in the rooms either side of the new back door can be heated. I've never had two loops before on central heating, nor worked on a bungalow, so my question is: Is there anything I should know before I quote?

It's a two-pipe system run in 15mm.
Altogether he wants:
1) central heating pipes either side of the back door capping off
2) in new kitchen - radiator/pipes removing, but hot and cold putting in
3) old hot and cold pipes removing from the old kitchen
4) old shower removing (hot and cold pipes)
5) a radiator moving a couple of metres in the lounge

I was thinking of quoting £700...

Thanks in advance, to more experienced plumbers than me!

Sponsored Links
Best advice I can give you is to get jiggy with an excel spreadhseet.

Make a column that has your common materials, labour costs etc..

then another column that has the quantities of each you'll be using.

Then another with any markups.

Finally you'll need a cell that calcualtes the overall costs.

This way you can systematically build up the costs of a project. Mine statred off very simple and is now quite advanced - with all the boiler kits I use on a separate sheet that links back to the main one.