CH cleaning

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there. I'm planning on putting some cleaner in my CH system. I have never done this before. I have a gravity fed system. boiler downstairs in garage, water tank in bathroom upstairs and then a small tank and larger tank in the lost. Is it a case of draining the system and then adding the cleaner to one of the tanks in the loft.

Also if this is the case, will I not be bathing in the water the cleaner is in. I thought the tanks up the loft were expansion tanks where the water tank calls water from as it's used. Bit confused. If anyone could give me some pointers that would be a great help

Sponsored Links
The two tanks in the attic have different purposes.

The large tank acts as a supply to the hot water cylinder, it pressurises the cylinder so that the hot water can flow around the house.

The smaller tank is the feed and expansion tank for the central heating.

The water in the two systems does not mix, as the central heating water flows through a heating coil in the hot water cylinder.

So if you add the system cleaner to the small attic tank, you will not be bathing in it, as the water you bathe in is supplied only by the larger attic tank.

Hope that makes things a bit clearer.

What do you propose to do after you've had the cleaner in for a while?
What do the instructions recommend?

Sponsored Links
Provided there is plenty of inhibitor in the system, it shouldn't need regular cleaning.

Is the water black, or are there other 'symptoms' which lead you to suspect a build up of sludge/gunge?

Not really no. I have never put any cleaner in the system so I dont know if it has had any treatment previously so I was going to drain it and start from scratch.

Also just something not relating to the question. But how uch should I be paying for a replacement safety valve to be fitted on my boiler. I just paid £70 is that quite reasonable for the west midlands area?