change of switch socket / plug socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

DIY newbie here and looking to update the flat with fresh coat of paint and potentially upgrade all the plug / interrupter (light switch – in case my wording is wrong) with something more fancy.

Is that something that a novice can do? Or do I need an electrician?

Do i need to be aware of what I am buying? in regards of specs? to my limited understanding, I believe i am just changing the aesthetic- is that correct?

https://www.toolstation.com/antique-brass-switch/p74793#reviewTab

https://www.toolstation.com/antique-brass-13a-dp-socket/p97903

I saw these on tools station? But any specific suppliers recommendations or all about personal taste ?

Thanks,
Jeremy

Attachments

• 20200613_204749_resized.jpg
    20200613_204749_resized.jpg
    497 KB · Views: 312
  • 20200613_204808_resized.jpg
    20200613_204808_resized.jpg
    285.3 KB · Views: 327
  • 20200613_204837_resized.jpg
    20200613_204837_resized.jpg
    389.3 KB · Views: 320
Sponsored Links
Sockets should be straight forward. Switches come in different types, one way, two way, intermediate. Two way are used when a light can be operated from 2 places. Intermediates are required if a light can be operated from 3 or more places. Metal switches need to be earthed. Depending on the age of your wiring this may not be easy or possible without a rewire.

Before disconnecting anything take a photo of the connections. Different switches have the terminals in different positions.

Finally as your switches and sockets are in good nick keep them so when the antique brass fad wears off or the brass gets scratched you can put them back.

Don't forget to switch off your power before doing anything.

Hi Winston1,

i believe all are single way - but you have raise important thoughts about earth.

Metal switches need to be earthed. Depending on the age of your wiring this may not be easy or possible without a rewire.