Changing a circuit breaker

Joined
6 Apr 2006
Messages
160
Reaction score
1
Location
Leeds
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
The electrics have gone to my garage.
It has it's own mini consumer unit with a 6 amp and a 16 amp circuit breaker.
When I presss the test button nothing happens so I presume there is no power getting to it at all.
All the house electrics are working except this.
It runs from a Proteus Geyer 20 amp breaker in the kitchen consumer unit.
There is an identical one in there for a different circuit that works, how do you change them?
I thought I could swap them over to test if it has failed.
How do you get them out?
Ta
Granny
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
11 Jan 2010
Messages
7,645
Reaction score
612
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
If you don't know, don't do it. You will be working on live equipment.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,715
Reaction score
1,446
Country
United Kingdom
I thought I could swap them over to test if it has failed.
How do you get them out?

For a quick test, just swap over the two wires (either red or brown)for each circuit, after turning off the consumer unit.
 
Joined
16 Jun 2006
Messages
6,029
Reaction score
1,061
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Sponsored Links
Joined
12 Jan 2008
Messages
8,609
Reaction score
960
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Do you mean a 620B
587393c207747.jpg
 
Joined
7 Jan 2009
Messages
1,556
Reaction score
95
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Simply swapping supplies over is not the answer nor is it a valid way of fault finding.

You need to check for voltage present on the outgoing side of MCB supplying the garage unit in your homes consumer unit and if there is voltage present there - also at the incomer to that garage unit. If there is no voltage present at either point, is there voltage on the incoming side of the MCB in your homes consumer unit and so on.

Does the supply cable go direct to the garage unit?

Where you doing anything when the electrics “went” in the garage?

what if there’s a fault which has taken out the MCB and because you’ve not fixed it, it will take out the second MCB?
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,715
Reaction score
1,446
Country
United Kingdom
Simply swapping supplies over is not the answer nor is it a valid way of fault finding.

Begging your pardon willy, but the OP asked if he could swap one 'breaker' for another, to see if his garage 'breaker' was faulty. Which seems to suggest he is lacking in test equipment. Swapping the cable from his 'breaker' to an alternative 'breaker' then does become a valid method of fault finding. In other words, you work with what you have when diagnosing an issue, rather than what you would ideally like to have.
 
Joined
7 Jan 2009
Messages
1,556
Reaction score
95
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Begging your pardon willy, but the OP asked if he could swap one 'breaker' for another, to see if his garage 'breaker' was faulty. Which seems to suggest he is lacking in test equipment. Swapping the cable from his 'breaker' to an alternative 'breaker' then does become a valid method of fault finding. In other words, you work with what you have when diagnosing an issue, rather than what you would ideally like to have.


I don’t think advising people to work in that way is a great idea. With none lethal mediums, absolutely. But not with electricity. The fact that he seemingly has no measurement equipment suggests he can’t even check for dead to make sure the main switch is working or that nobody has done the dirty and wired something to the live side. I agree you work with what you’ve got, but I also remember that we are qualified electricians and I just can’t bring myself to advise people to do something that 1) is potentially dangerous and 2) they have no idea about.
 
Joined
6 Apr 2006
Messages
160
Reaction score
1
Location
Leeds
Country
United Kingdom
It was working fine when I went out. Came back and it was not working.
No one was in or working on anything.
Thanks for your help but I will get an electrician it's more complicated than I thought.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,715
Reaction score
1,446
Country
United Kingdom
I don’t think advising people to work in that way is a great idea. With none lethal mediums, absolutely. But not with electricity. The fact that he seemingly has no measurement equipment suggests he can’t even check for dead to make sure the main switch is working or that nobody has done the dirty and wired something to the live side. I agree you work with what you’ve got, but I also remember that we are qualified electricians and I just can’t bring myself to advise people to do something that 1) is potentially dangerous and 2) they have no idea about.

The OP had in mind to tackle something even more potentially dangerous - swapping the 'breaker' over in the 'board'. I advised him against that and suggested a safer method.
 
Sponsored Links
Top