Changing an Economy 7 socket to a plug socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am trying to get my head around economy 7 and have seen a few posts on here, and realise if i want to put a socket in where my old economy 7 heater used to run off the "night" rate, i need to get the electricity supply for that socket running off the main electricity supply and not the night rate.

I am by no means an electrician or have any skills in trade work, so could someone please tell me at how much i am looking at (and how difficult it will be) to change 3 fused sockets which run off the night tariff to the normal circuit? it is confusing me beyond belief this economy 7, and only seems to be 1p cheaper per unit of electricy used at night. I am doing away with it completely.

Also, whilst posting on here. Does anyone know how to change the hot water cylinder (I am getting a new one) to run off the main electricity supply and not be economy 7? I still want a timer on it but only for the morning and want to use a "boost" button for the evening. Sorry for the essay.

Sponsored Links
Is there a timer or black box of some sort, with wire seals on it to prevent you opening it?

If so then that's the timeswitch for your economy 7 power, and it's owned by the supplier. Just ring your supplier and say you want to change tariffs to a normal setup. They'll come round and install a new meter and should remove the old timer and wire up that consumer unit to normal power like the rest.

Then just replace the outlets for the heaters with normal sockets, and put your own timer on the immersion.

Is there a timer or black box of some sort, with wire seals on it to prevent you opening it?