Changing Basin Taps That Have Been Cemented On.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm gonna fit some new taps to our old sink in the bathroom,
but because I'm a crap plumber, I need some help. :oops:

The existing ones look like they've been fixed on to the basin
with some kind of cement or putty which of course is rock hard.
I presume this has been used to stop the taps from spinning round.

Now, before I try and remove them, I would like some advice.

Should they be easy to remove, or will dynamite be required ?
I don't want a small job to turn into a major one (you know
what I mean), so any advice will be appreciated.

Also, is the use of cement/putty the normal way to fix taps on,
or is normally not necessary ?

Thanks in advance.

Yorkie. :)

Sponsored Links
if you can get the backnuts loose (usually a job in itself)

try wiggling the taps about if you can get them to move they will come out

also try a spot of heat BE CAREFUL

Address the issues with the client first as you stand a very good chance of breaking the basin, and you could be buying him a new one at your cost if you don't put him in the picture first.

Best way to free the taps is to cut the top off with a hacksaw blade and tap it through from above.

Sponsored Links
If its a really old sink the tap holes might be square and the taps seated with a kind of putty. Gentle heat will soften old putty, try it on your old windows.

If things get tough it might pay to take the sink off the wall first.

If I find any plumber that thinks that its a good idea to put putty on the taps I will seriously hit them with a wet fish!

7 hours today to try and remove the taps, I told the customer I could try and force the basin but it might break....so... a cracked basin and fitting a replacement later and im stuck on the cold water tap on the bath (furthest one back) Hammer/drill/swearing at it no good... Hacksaw tomorrow