Chemfix / Brick Adhesive

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I want to fix some coping stones to a breeze block wall and saw that Chemfix make a couple of products (Metobond and Epoxy Brick Adhesive) which seem to be just for this kind of job, but i've never used it before and had a couple of questions.

1. How does this stuff compare to mortar & a plasticiser? Especially in ease of use and speed as I have little practice with this type of construction.

2. Does anyone know where to buy it? I can't seem to find it for sale on any websites. If not is there a good alternative that I can get hold of?

Sponsored Links
The metobond product would do the trick. It's easy to mix on a board and apply to the coping / blocks. It comes in 10KG sets so if you only need a small amount then a 300mm tube (silicone gun size) of repair resin might be better.

These products are sold through a distributor in the UK:

***Removed***

Hi Bandwagon,

Thanks alot!

I'll contact them for some prices when the weather clears.

Seb

Copings will get a lot of weather extremes and lots of expansion/contraction

Make sure that this epoxy will cope with that without just cracking - ie need to be flexible not just strong

Sponsored Links
Hi ^woody^,

That was my biggest concern; whether this stuff would perform aswell as mortar.
We had some guys come round not too long ago and to fix in a pillar they used a Chemfix product. This is exposed as anything else outside and seems to be holding well but its the only example i've seen of it so I thought id ask and see if anyone else knew of it before deciding on it.

I'm wondering if it may be worth buying a sample and glueing a couple of blocks together then leaving them outside for a while and see how it stands up.

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.