Choice of 2 drills?

gbu

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have seen 2 deals at B&Q both for 18v combi drills both for under £100

One is a Dewalt:-
http://www.diy.com/diy/jsp/bq/nav.jsp?action=detail&fh_secondid=10668127&fh_view=detail

One is a Bosch:-
http://www.diy.com/diy/jsp/bq/nav.jsp?action=detail&fh_secondid=11227751&fh_view=detail

Im a plumber by trade but use a drill only a small percentage of the time for hanging rads, clips to walls etc as well as general DIY stuff.
So im not after the most powerful/expensive drill around as i may only use it every few weeks or so.

Both have 2 batteries so one will always be charged, i know the Bosch has the Li-On batts compared to the Ni-cad of the Dewalt so im guessing i'll get longer use outa the Bosch, but i think the Dewalt has more power/torque.

I know this threads trend to throw up a "..why not buy this make instead......"etc but im really only interested in these 2 for choice as they meet my budget(dont wanna go over £100)

So any help would be much appreciated if anyone has either or can pick out an obvious feature that the other doesn't have and so makes it a must have over the over.

many thanks

Sponsored Links
Bosch every time - with 2 li-on batteries seems an excellent deal.
John :)

Thanks for the fast reply.
Is that based on your own preference of drills or the differences between these 2?

i suspect the dewalt is 1.3ah batteries but dont know nicads can only be charged when 95-97% flat otherwise they develop a memory
li-ion can be top up charged with around 60% charged in first 15 to 20 mins off charging

in other words you can charge both batteries the night before and know you have 2 full batteries where as one nicad could be half charged and the other 20% there is no way off knowing
the bosh is part off a system off about 6 tools where as the dewalt is part off around 20 tools to fit the batteries
you just buy the further tools without batteries

Sponsored Links