1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Chrome not responding

Discussion in 'Software' started by PrenticeBoyofDerry, 12 Feb 2017.

  1. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pyss poor service, they say they can book in an engineer for me, but as there is an outage it will be cancelled straight away.

    They do say an outage being going on far too long now, they get moving the completion date. I have requested refund, they are suppose to be sending something in writing to me.
     
  2. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed they have got worse since the Indian empire has been reestablished.
    Calling them only brings on more frustration and lot of attempt fobbing off. I have been with them since before they were Virgin Media, but loyalty counts for very little.
    This has been going on for about 10 weeks now, no forward notice from them, no courteous calls or letters, just left high and dry!
     
  3. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,724
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I, too, have VM and I agree that so-called 'outages' due to 'routine maintenance' are not at all uncommon.

    Calling them in a bit of a lottery. I usually get their Indian call centre, but occasionally I'm lucky enough to get through to their Scottish call centre where the staff seem to be far more competent and on the ball. The trouble is that there is no way to choose which you want to call.

    VM is the only fibre service in this area. Others, using BT lines, are all slower of course and, to be honest, could well suffer the same level of unreliability as far as I am aware. Consequently, I don't see any option but to stay with VM, at least for now.
     
  4. Neil Henry

    Neil Henry

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham. United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you ever resolve this issue satisfactorily ?
    If you want an engineer out, then unplug your modem and call them and say that the modem is not lighting up. They will send someone out sharpish. Then plug it back in a few hours later and wait for the engineer to attend and explain to him what the issue is. He will check your routers power levels and db etc and usually tell you what the issue is.

    As for Chrome, not the best browser in the world if i'm honest. I stick with Firefox as it's still way quicker than chrome.

    Another thing that is notorious for slowing browsers down is not having the settings correct on how long to keep the internet files viewed. Go into the Contol Panel / Internet Options and then delete the browsing history. Remarkable how quickly it speeds up.

    How much space do you have left on your C: Drive ? This is another notoriously bad issue with Microsoft. If it reaches a certain point, it really does start to slow down, and have a look at the non paged ram too.
     
  5. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,724
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My default browser is Chrome, but its major drawback as far as I'm concerned is that it won't allow YouTube downloaders to work (I regularly download and save Simon's Cat videos!). For that reason, I have now downloaded and installed Firefox, which I will use for YouTube downloads.

    One annoyance is that I tried to set up the same 9 tabs that I have on Chrome for my most used sites. For some reason, having done that and closed Firefox, when I started it again the tabs were gone. No great shakes, though, as I'll continue to use Chrome for most purposes.
     
  6. roy60

    roy60

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use in private browser mode with Google, W10 doesn't like them very much and its a known issue

    note FF has its own remove on closedown section, and you have to enable the bookmarks toolbar.

    Roy
     
  7. Neil Henry

    Neil Henry

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham. United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once it is enabled then you can goto History at the top and restore the previous session or you can recall previously closed tabs or windows.

    Not knocking chrome, but i have had to many issues with it, which being the major one for me was when i was trying to use Zenmate (VPN addon at the time and now a standalone) it kept showing my home ip even though it was saying it was connected. Another few addons were causing issues like the s3 translator which works great on Firefox.
     
  8. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    I had a similar difficulty on my PC, & an engineer called round.
    He identified the fault as being due to my habit of switching off at the outlet every night - he said to simply close the PC and leave the power on, not to touch the outlet switch.
    Its worked so far - although I have a peculiar business, a minor fault, with pics that I've mentioned in another post.
     
  9. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quick update on the issue I had, VM have been updating the cables/services in the area. Regretfully that has led to slow or unresponsive internet/TV services at peak times (according to VM). The issue is still ongoing and I have now had two engineers visit the property, both left with problem not fixed, last week the phone line went down, which is linked to my security system, that has cause other issues. VM have not been that helpful and customers services have been appalling.
     
  10. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,724
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have had problems throughout the many years I have been with them.

    The latest problems have involved VM's e-mail 'service' which has been notoriously unreliable. I spoke to one of their 'experts' who achieved nothing and blamed the problem on my having Windows 10!

    Today was no different. VM's e-mail was completely unavailable all day until late afternoon.

    I have now decided to ditch VM's e-mail in favour of G-mail, which I have found to be completely reliable for some time now. I have a feeling that VM are going down the pan, and that it may not be too long before I find a better broadband supplier.
     
  11. Judy in the sky

    Judy in the sky

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    728
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Finally something both I and Johnnyboy can agree on. VM helplines are useless. I'm with VM. Last problem I had was when my Tivo box gave up the ghost. The person on the other end of the line told me to connect my spare Tivo box and try that.. I don't have a spare Tivo box. When they installed mine three years ago the engineer told me there was another Tivo box for the bedroom, but to wire it up would cost extra. I told him as we don't have a tv in the bedroom, I didn't want another Tivo box, so he took it away with him. Got put through to a UK based service (finally talking to someone who understood English). This chap said I'd been charged for two Tivo box rentals right from day one. A complaint to VM followed. A few days later they phoned me to say I'd never been charged for two Tivo boxes.. Still don't know who to believe as the chap from their UK help centre definitely said I'd been charged for two. A new Tivo box (well probably re-conditioned) has been sent and works fine, although I have lost all my Walking Dead recordings. Yes Virgin Media helpline,,, useless.
     
  12. How much space do you have left on your hard drive, and how much memory in your computer.
     
  13. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,724
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's wrong with it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page