Closed boarding on pitched roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

Absolute novice here when it comes to roofs but in need of some advice. I live in a 1930's 3 bed semi-detached property. It still has the original roof on (most the houses in our street do but a handful have been replaced). We're thinking of replacing our roof whilst we have the money to do so. With inflation constantly pushing prices up, we thought it would be a good idea to invest in getting a new roof now. Our roof is closed boarded and tiled with clay Marley tiles. Looking in the loft, all the wood, beams and closed boarding looks in pretty great shape. We have got a couple of quotes from recommended roofers in the area. The company we want use has recommended removing the closed boarding and adding felt, battens and the tiles. In my mind it would be a real shame and possibly counter productive to loose the closed boarding. It's served the house well over its tenure. The reason for removal is that the roofer has said that if kept, he would have to counter batten which would raise the roof level and leave a messy finish to next doors property. I just want to seek peoples advice on this? Surely the closed boarding serves some structural purpose and is more robust than a roof without closed boarding? Is there a correct way to tackle this problem. I mean the roof is currently fine so I don't want to create a problem where there isn't one or replace what has been a fantastic roof with one that is inferior in terms of how long it will last.

Greatly appreciate your advice and knowledge (y)

Sponsored Links
If you are a semi then your guy is rightish.
1930s feather edge board was often used with no battens .this would need to come off. Underlay and batten fitted.
If it's true close board then counter batten will be required.and would cause an issue of heights at your neighbours .