Coaxial in walls

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm a novice here so sorry if these are stoopid questions.

I've recently chased out concrete walls and had an electrician come in a wire up my flat.. The chases are still open as I gotta get round to plastering them all up. However, I've just decided i want to run coaxial along the same routes.

The twin and earth is in oval conduit. Can I just run the coaxial with no covering next to this conduit and then just plaster it all up? I know it means there is little recourse if I the cable goes wrong somewhere but I really don't want to have to widen the chase any more- as I would have to do if the coax had to go in conduit too. Concrete not being easy to cut an all...

One other thing... The chase is about 30mm deep - what's the best thing to fill this up? I started using plaster but then someone said that was stupid and bonding would be easier...? Any tips? Is that just a diff type of plaster...

Sponsored Links
Thanks - but what about the coax? Is that OK?

Also, where do you buy bonding? Does it have another name... tried B&Q and Travis Perkins. All I could find was bonding compound (plasterboard adhesive).

Signal cable such as voice, data, TV such should have an air barrier of 50mm from any 240v circuit.

If the 240v is barrier protected such as conduit, ego tube or trunking then that is deemed as an effective barrier- So yes you can run it beside the cable in the tube. If any of the routes are exposed, do keep the 50mm barrier, avoid going in the same holes / notches and cross power cables at 90 deg.

I'd also suggest useing the best double screened co-ax you can find, single or twin depending on needs (twin is essential for Sky+ boxes).

Single PF100 is the base line.

Sponsored Links
Thanks jj4091... missed that, sorry. Any hints on where to get it?