Complete beginner needing advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have just joined this site as I am a complete decorating novice and need some advice. I am about to start decorating the master bedroom in my house and I am doing a feature wall in black with a kind of dark grey textured design on it.

My problem is I am unsure of what colour to put on the other walls? I was thinking of doing white so that the two will be in huge contrast to each other but don't know if this will make the room look a bit non-descript.

Any ideas or opinions on the choice before I go ahead and try it?

Thanks,
Zoe

Sponsored Links
Sounds bit goth to me which is a style on its own...so i wouldnt worry too much about it being non descript.

Anything will go with black, as it will with white, it just depends on your personal taste

You could pick up on a lighter version of the dark grey your going to use in the textured effect and try that

You could use a pinky colour it you want the room to be warm and cosy...or a green if you want a fresher feel to it

One of the first things you should do when picking colours for a room is decide what you want out of that room in the first place...thats why certain colours look better than others in certain environments...

I do quite like the goth style but I would like the room to be calming so will test a few colours first.

It did cross my mind to try the light grey on the walls so will look at that. Thanks for advice.

Zoe