Complete newbie to DIY

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys

I'm a complete newbie to DIY but now having my own house I now have to step up and start doing things.

My question is this , I have pipes running under my sink to the toilet and looks terrible, I'm looking at covering them up and have read I can box them in with plasterboard? But I have to drill wood into the wall toake a frame for the plasterboard to be drilled to , but do I just drill a screw through the wood then then the wall??? And certain screws?? The wall in the bathroom is solid would guess brick?

Sorry to sound so stupid : s

Sponsored Links
Everyone's gotta start somewhere but re-post your thread in the woodworking section of the forum and add a photo or two.

Pre drill the holes in the batten.

Hold it against the wall, stick a pencil through the holes to mark on the wall where you need to drill.

Drill holes in the wall for wallplugs (look up guides on drilling wallplugs).

Now you can just screw the batten to the wall.

If you are completely new to DIY, my main advice is... Expect to do something wrong, don't get pee'd off, just accept you cocked up and re-do it, rather than try and make a bodge work.

Pre drill the holes in the batten.

Hold it against the wall, stick a pencil through the holes to mark on the wall where you need to drill.

Drill holes in the wall for wallplugs (look up guides on drilling wallplugs).

Now you can just screw the batten to the wall.

If you are completely new to DIY, my main advice is... Expect to do something wrong, don't get pee'd off, just accept you cocked up and re-do it, rather than try and make a bodge work.

What he said - and try practice somewhere if you can! Find an old out-of-view wall and try drilling/plugging some holes! So you know what you can expect to go wrong for your proper job! (wrong drill-bit, holes not deep enough, holes to wide for plugs, screws too narrow for plugs...