Compression Fittings, "The Knack"

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
OK, I am still a newbie Plumber. But I have put together about 20 of these sort of joins now on radiators, isolation valves and other things, I do not use PTFE tape or jointing compound and not a single one of my compression joins has leaked, bar the second, which only leaked because I did it up weakly on purpose to see how much further I had to tighten it to stop it leaking.

So, I've seen it written on here that there is a knack to doing up compression joints. Since "a knack" doesn't help anyone, this is how I do them up. Of course I am still a newbie so would appreciate comments from experienced plumbers on if this is any good or not because you will either save me future leaks or help out future newbies :D

First, I do the nut up finger tight, I do not strain in any way, as soon as it doesn't turn anymore, holding it with two fingers and not applying anymore effort than before it reached the olive, it is done up finger tight.

Secondly, I grip whatever I am trying to attach to the pipe, (fixing, valve, etc) to stop it and the pipe moving then twist the compression nut until the force required to twist the nut increases. I only apply enough force to twist the nut until it moves slowly (not that slowly, it takes maybe 3-4 seconds to complete half a turn) so that when the force required increases, the nut stops turning.

Three, I turn the water on, it never leaks.

Tools used:

Tough Fittings: Mole Grips or Water Pump Pliers to grip fixing, Spanner (Normally 24) to twist compression nut.

Chrome Fittings: Two soft-jaw (plastic inserts) water pump pliers. You have to squeeze these hard, I would be surprised if lady plumbers found these tools adequate, it's just what I use.

Sponsored Links
sounds ok useally half a turn with an adjustable after finger tight is enough.
36_1_11.gif