Concrete slab floor - getting it level in a single pour

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
(Apologies for reposting this; I think I originally posted it in the wrong place, and don't seem to be able to move the post.)

I'm planning on pouring a concrete slab floor in my extension, and have been advised that it's possible to pour it in a single 100mm smooth concrete slab rather than the more traditional 100mm concrete + 50mm screed. I'm just wondering how I would get this level? I'll be pouring it on top of my DPM that will be extending up the walls, so I don't see how I can mount anything that I can use as a guide rail for a tamping bar or anything like that... any way I can think of of fixing something that's going to withstand pouring concrete around it is going to involve making a hole in the DPM, which obviously I can't do. Is there a way of doing this that I've missed?

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert, but couldn't you get is pretty bob on and than pour just a self leveling compound on it, saving time and money?

Tom

Here in the province we lay home floors the correct way.

That's laying down a sub floor unto compacted type 3 then complete the building works.
Then insulation is laid and the finished screed on top.

There is a number of advantages with this method...
1 - Allows you lay services within the insulation layer and only a weak sand/cement screed is above them so they are classed as accessible.

2 - Reduces the thermal inertia of the structure allowing faster warm up times in winter

3 - Reduces the weight pressing down on the insulation

4 - Reduces heat loss

5 - And of course is especially important with UFH as you avoid prolonged warm up periods

Single pour, power floated slabs are for individual buildings, or stand alone structures and are largely unsuitable for extensions.

As said, when building an extension, it is wiser to leave room for a screed.

Sponsored Links