Condensation in Bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm having real problems with condensation in my bathroom. I couldn't find a similar set of circumstances described in another post, so have created a new thread. I'm not a DIY expert, and am baffled as to what is going on, so thoughts on how I might fix this are welcome please.

We moved into our new house around 5 years ago, and have just reached the point where (I am told) rooms need redecorating. I've started on the shower room. Before I redecorated there was no problem with condensation (although a bit of mould was starting to grow on the ceiling). After redecorating, there is a real problem - five minutes in the shower and condensation is literally dripping off the ceiling plus running down the walls.

The situation is as follows: shower room of size 3.2m x 1.8m x 2.4m; extractor fan venting through a 4" duct in the wall; underfloor heating; well insulated loft space directly above; the room is comfortably warm.

My redecorating included: replacing a basic Manrose extractor with a more powerful Silent Tornado http://www.extractorfanworld.co.uk/st100t-silent-tornado-hi-power-bathroom-fan-with-timer-3435-p.asp, repainting the walls (with Dulux bathroom paint) and ceiling (with Zinsser Perma-White), and changing the downlights to LEDs. (When I came to paint the ceiling, the existing paint flaked off when touched. I concluded the plaster hadn't been sealed properly, stripped it back, sealed and re-painted.)

I've looked for more powerful extractor fans, but there doesn't seem to be anything significantly more powerful that doesn't either make a lot of noise or require a larger duct. I'm reluctant to fit a new inline extractor through the loft when everything appeared OK before I redecorated.

Any thoughts as to what's going on here would be gratefully received. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Do check that the extractor is actually removing air (i.e the back draught shutters are opening.)