connect dvd to tv

Joined
6 Apr 2008
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Help! stupid question probably..don't laugh.

Do i have to conect my tv to an aerial if i only want to watch dvd's and not tv programmes :oops: :rolleyes:
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Apr 2008
Messages
8,632
Reaction score
704
Country
United Kingdom
No. but you still need a TV licence.

Errrr, are you 100% sure about that?

A TV license is required to receive broadcasts, not to watch pre recorded shows/DVD's if both the TV & the DVD recorder are permanently prevented from receiving broadcasts (perhaps remove/disable the tuner in both).

have a lookhere and here or here.

OR even better here for some good advise on the subject.

Which basically means that if you do not receive television programs at about the same time I.E. they are pre recorded or time shifted then you do not.

So if your going to do it, make sure that you "dont" have a TV aerial :D

Here starteth the arguments[/url]
 
Joined
27 Apr 2008
Messages
8,632
Reaction score
704
Country
United Kingdom
And to be capable it has to have an antenna connected to it.

Read the linked information & do some more research to find out what you need to do.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
6 Apr 2008
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
i phoned the tv licence people and they said it was ok if not connected to an aerial or tuned in
 
Joined
20 Jan 2004
Messages
4,864
Reaction score
2
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
And to be capable it has to have an antenna connected to it.

Read the linked information & do some more research to find out what you need to do.

Hmm, not necessarily if you stream iplayer output to it. Or being pedantic, if you have a sky or freesat dish.

Hmm, actually, scrub the iplayer bit, you don't need a licence for this at the moment but you do if you receive bbc channels through sky or freesat.
 
Joined
27 Apr 2008
Messages
8,632
Reaction score
704
Country
United Kingdom
Having it connected to Sky - yes you need a license if you use that to watch
broadcasts atthe same time as the public do.

But to have a DVD player only connected to a TV then you do not.

As carolg has confirmed with a phone call, I would however get it confirmed in writing so that they do not bother you as they are likely to do so if you have a TV with no license.

Analogy:
licensing authority = "dog"
house with tv & no license = "bone"
:LOL: :LOL:
 
Joined
20 Jan 2004
Messages
4,864
Reaction score
2
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Having it connected to Sky - yes you need a license if you use that to watch
broadcasts atthe same time as the public do.

But to have a DVD player only connected to a TV then you do not.

As carolg has confirmed with a phone call, I would however get it confirmed in writing so that they do not bother you as they are likely to do so if you have a TV with no license.

Analogy:
licensing authority = "dog"
house with tv & no license = "bone"
:LOL: :LOL:

Yes, so would I as the TV licencing outsources it's revenue recovery to Capita, who shall we say get a bad press from some people.
 
Sponsored Links
Top