connecting Recessed Lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Just brought 3 recessed lights to replace a single light in the bathroom.
The recessed lights are mains feed with terminal blocks and do not have a transformer. I was wondering whats the best way to interconnect the recessed lights together and also the type of wiring to use. Would it be a matter of using a junction box or could i 'daisy chain' them together ?.

Any help would very much be appreciated

Sponsored Links
which ever you find the easier, both junction box and daisy chain are acceptable.

that said, you may want to consider using a junction box where your ceiling rose is now instead.

ideally you should use 1.mm twin and earth

and don't forget to make a drawing first

Many thanks breezer

If i use a junction box would it be ... one junction box and then live and neutral to each terminal block from this one junction box ? Sorry if this is a silly question .... i'm new to this .

better that you ask first.

Yes you are right, but dont forget the earth.

you should wire your junction box as the ceiling rose is now, excepth where your existing light is connected, you take a cable to the first light, then on to the second etc

Sponsored Links
Thanks Breezer,

The light terminal blocks only have live and neutral connections ... just wondering what i should do with the earth wire ?

put them in a separate chock bloc adjacent each light (and also dont forget to use green / yellow sleaving