Connecting two lights & two switches together

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ok. I'm not an expert on electrics but know a wee bit so not entirely stupid on this subject! This question actually has two parts but if the first isn't possible then no point asking the second!

First part, I have a 2 gang light switch that switches two separate lights on. The two gang switch has a 3-core & earth at each one. The two separate switches that these are wired two have obviously the other end of the 3-core & earth & a live & switch to the lights they control. Is it possible for me to change the two gang to an intermediate then have the 3 switches (twox 1 gang 2 ways & new intermediate) turn on/off both lights at the same time??

Sponsored Links
So long as they are both on the same circuit (fuse/mcb) then there should be no problem doing that.
The 2 wires in the common terminals would need joining together in a connector and the other 4 wires connected to the intermediate switch's 4 terminals.
If they are on different circuits then no you can't.

So long as they are both on the same circuit (fuse/mcb) then there should be no problem doing that.
The 2 wires in the common terminals would need joining together in a connector and the other 4 wires connected to the intermediate switch's 4 terminals.
If they are on different circuits then no you can't.

Are you sure it would work?

I've just drawn it out, and it seemed to be I couldn't connect both switched lives for the lights to the same terminal so it works.

Could be wrong of course.

deleted

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    90.2 KB · Views: 229
Sponsored Links
Yes I think you might be right I'll have to have a think about that.

Details of the wiring at both lights would be handy.

If you're lucky, they will both be on the same circuit.

If you're really lucky you will either have easy access to the wiring above the ceiling.