Constructing a base for a shed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to errect a 10' x 12' shed in a wood and it would be difficult to get in a concrete mixer and lay a hard base. Would it be OK to errect the shed on bearers and if so what size would the bearers have to be and how far apart? Would the bearers need to be resting on slabs and if so would I have to put a concrete mix under the slabs.

Sorry about all these questions but I am a total novice at this game.

Sponsored Links
You could use bearers but make sure they are level or the shed wont be.
Make sure you use pressure treated timber but use added wood preserver (cuprinol etc) especially at the ends so it will soak up as much as possible.
Tanalised timber now uses different chemicals which remove the need for arsenic but dont expect them to last as long as previously.
It has gone down from 25 to 15 years.
You could try the method a neighbour used as a base for his greenhouse.
He used a few lengths of 4" or 6" plastic drainage pipe.
He dug holes approx 12" down (300mm)
After making sure the pipe was cut straight across he sunk them into the holes, making sure they were upright and all level.
He then filled each pipe with enough concrete to fill to the top and put a bit of concrete around the pipes to hold them in place.
The top of the pipes should be set 2-3" (50-75mm) above the ground to keep the shed base above the damp ground.
This helps prevent rotting.
He only screwed into the concrete using rawlplug to hold the greenhouse down.
For a shed I would recommend putting rag bolts into the concrete before it sets.
I would set these concrete bearing points every 2' (610mm) along each of the 12' sides plus 2 or 3 along each 10' end and a few in the middle for floor support.
You could then make a frame with half lapped joints on the ends to fit over the rag bolts you used.
This will make a stronger base than using just timber.