1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Consumer unit Upgrade

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by motorbiking, 5 May 2019.

  1. motorbiking

    motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    3,879
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm in the process of buying a little house on the isle of wight. It is a victorian 2 up 2 down terrace. I have a small budget for upgrades and would like to consider the consumer unit as I'm not a fan of old fuse systems due to risk. I will likely be AirBnBing the place from time to time, so want the electrics to be as safe as possible.

    Is it possible to upgrade this with a current compliant unit? Are there slim units available which would be sufficient?

    What do people normally do? One option might be to relocate a new unit in the hall way.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    4,153
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fit all rcbo inside. A new cu

    Be narrow and good for small place.
     
  3. motorbiking

    motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    3,879
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry are you saying retro fit to the existing box. I know you can get plug in wire fuse replacement MCBs or are you saying just get a 6 way CU.
     
  4. scousespark

    scousespark

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should get an electrician to carry ou an inspection. This will tell you where you stand. Before upgrading the CU, you need confirmation that your circuits are compliant. This is especially true as you plan to rent out the property.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,479
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Changing a consumer unit is not a DIY activity. Especially as doing it yourself might put your AirBNB clients at risk.

    Get a local, Registered electrician to sort this for you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. motorbiking

    motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    3,879
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not planning to do it myself, just trying to understand the options.
     
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,680
    Thanks Received:
    1,983
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wylex do 5 or 8 way HERE

    Definately use RCBOs, the extra cost will be recovered the first time a renter calls you with total loss of power because the single RCD has tripped and cannot be reset until an emergency electrician has attended.

    Is there a stair case under that sloping section ? Which floor is this ? Bit odd that the supply cable and DNO's cutout are directly above a stair case,
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  8. motorbiking

    motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    3,879
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its not a stair case, this is the ground floor front room, I'm just holding back the box unit that someone made to cover the meter/CU. I'd prefer to move it under the stairs, but property prices on IoW are fairly low, so I need to keep this in mind. I could spend 10-15k and increase the value 5-8k tops
     
  9. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,680
    Thanks Received:
    1,983
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is obvious now you tell me, Specsavers for me I think
     
  10. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,479
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That’s a v costly option. The incoming supply and meter would be hugely expensive to move. In fact the DNO might require that the meter goes in an enclosure outside the property.
    Also, all of the circuits that go to the existing fuse box would need to be extended and moved to the under stairs location. That won’t be trivial either.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Notch7

    Notch7

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2017
    Messages:
    11,618
    Thanks Received:
    953
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds to me like its existing position is just perfect (y)
     
  12. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,427
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could you remove the boxing-in completely and take a photo straight on at floor level of the service fuse and meter.

    You might need your cutout renewed too (which would be free, done by the electricity distibutor).
     
  13. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It (they) is new enough to be bakelite - what do you think might be wrong?
     
  14. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,427
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure yet. Bakelite suggests it's not going to be DP fused, but I can't see clearly and the arrangement looks a bit unusual. Might be nice to check the earth on/from the supply cable if there is one.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page