Converting To Power Shower...Cost?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi! Newbie here....

I live in a townhouse type new build....on the top floor I have an en-suite bathroom with regular shower...in a bedroom next door same level is the boiler room with the hot water tank...

I want to convert my shower to a power type...how much would this cost?

Also there is a shower in the first floor bathroom which is just for guests so gets rarely used....it for some reason is an electric type....no idea why as there is a big tank upstairs!...to make it work you have to press this ridiculous nuclear bomb style button just outside the bathroom door (Bellway!)...anyway would that complicate things?.....the bath in this bathroom has a tap/shower arrangement as well so in effect two showers in that bath!....I'm not fussed about that shower facility being 'power' only the en-suite one up on the next floor. So would the pump 'just' power the top floor en-suite shower?

Thanks for any advice on cost/fixing.

Sponsored Links
Thanks so just found this

"An unvented mains pressure system stores mains pressure water in a large strengthened hot water tank (cylinder), usually found in the airing cupboard. The hot water will be heated either by immersion heaters fitted in the side of the cylinder or by a central heating boiler. This type of system doesn't require a cold water tank (cistern) in your loft and provides a high water flow rate & pressure."

So I can't utilize a pump from the large cylinder to the shower?....so the only people with power showers are those with like a cold water tank in the loft or something?

You can't pump more than 12l per minute from mains water supply.

Sponsored Links
You will not get a straight answer from any of this lot. I would have a word with a local plumber if were you. That is assuming you can actually find a "tradesman" that actually wants the work.

If you have an unvented hot water then a normal mixer shower should be powerful enough?